Introducing the new GUPSA Committee for 2013

Following the AGM last Thursday, GUPSA has a full Committee for the first time in a number of years, certainly since VSU was introduced in 2006! We will be bringing you more details about them soon but this post will serve as a quick introduction, listing the positions and the people elected to them.

President – Niels Kraaier

Vice President (Research) – Md. Zahirul Islam

 Vice President (Coursework) – Jason McNeil

 Treasurer – Min Jun Kim

Indigenous Students Officer – Jonathan Fabila

 Honours Students Officer – Rumaisa Bilal

 International Students Officer – Josette  Niyomwungere and Katrine Sonnenschein jointly

Queer Students Officer – Samad Naushahi

Nathan Campus Coordinator – Eduardo Jordan  Pérez

Logan Campus Coordinator – Tanvir Ahmed

Mt Gravatt Campus Coordinator – Mahbuba Sani

Queensland Conservatorium of Music Coordinator – Paul Jung

Queensland College of Art Coordinator – Lynden Stone and Sara Manser jointly

We  farewell and thank Maggie May, outgoing President of GUPSA 2011-2012, and active committee member since 2007. Without Maggie’s energy and commitment GUPSA likely would not have survived, and we gratefully acknowledge her commitment and all her hard work over the last few years.

We also farewell 2012 committee members, Tinashe Shito, Nathan Coordinator, and Michael Ayala, International Students Officer. Both Tinashe and Michael have finished their studies at Griffith and moved on, Michael returning to Ecuador. We thank them both for their commitment and work in 2012.

Stay tuned for more information on the new committee and GUPSA’s plans for 2013